Enugu– Six members of the Enugu State House of Assembly elected on the platform of the Labour Party (LP) have today, 28th March, 2024 formally announced their defection to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the ruling party in the state.

The defectors who announced their defection include: the Chief Whip of the house and member representing Igboeze North I, Hon. Ejike Eze; The leader of the house and member representing Enugu North, Hon. Johnson Ugwu; the member representing Enugu South Urban, Hon. Princess Ugwu.

Others are: member representing Nsukka West, Hon. Pius Ezeugwu; Member representing Igbo-Etiti East, Hon. Amuka Williams and member representing Oji River, Hon Osita Eze.

While announcing their defection during plenary, they stated that their action is as a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the labour party at the national level and across all the state chapters.

“Regrettably, the party has evolved into state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people. “The Labour party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas have regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.

They cited the cases of Abure and Apapa factions as well as the national treasurer as some of the divisions within the party. They expressed hope that the PDP will give them the platform to continue to serve the interests of their people and thanked the leaderships of Labour Party for their supports.

The motion for their defection to be accepted was moved by Rt. Hon. Iloabuchi Aniagu and was seconded by Rt. Hon. Jane Eneh.

Prior to this, the leadership of the Labour Party in the state had threatened to declare their seats vacant, if they decamped.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button